The Classics

Standard

“If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.”- Oscar Wilde

As I trudge through beginning studying for finals, and that quiz today….that I know nothing about, I cannot help but get excited that in two weeks I will be done with full semester #3 of law school. Over break, since I am going to be a bit laid up with this whole knee debacle, I can’t wait to catch up on reading for fun. I read like it is my job, or at least I used to before law school. The year before I started, I read almost 100 books in a year and 5 of them were from the A Song of Fire and Ice series (Game of Thrones for those of you who don’t read). Those books average over 1,000 pages a piece! With that said, #3 is A book I love.

I could not decide on a single favorite, so picked two classics I could read again and again, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

Google Images

I read both of these books high school, and my favorite English teacher made us do all of these crazy projects from To Kill a Mockingbird. We had to write a paper, and do a presentation and make a mobile. Sounds ridiculous, and I thought it was at the time. But I fell in love with the book. I read it here and there now, and love it every time. No one I know, not even my parents, could have guessed that ten years after reading this book, I would be in law school, looking up to Atticus Finch.

Every time I read this book, I find something new to fall in love with. Whether it is love or people or family, I find something that applies to my life at that particular moment, every time. And I love the newer movie version. They stayed close to the book, and I am a hopeless romantic so love, love, love that they used the “You may only call me “Mrs. Darcy”… when you are completely, and perfectly, and incandescently happy,” line in the movie.

What are some of your favorite books?

About Little Miss

I'm a twenty-something college grad. Did two years in to the real world, then quit my job and moved back to New Mexico to go to Law School! My God, family and friends keep me grounded. They are the loves of my life...and my dog too. I have a bucket list a mile long, and am making progress on it. I WILL accomplish everything on it before I die, and enjoy every second of it. Love: people, God, my family, my crazy friends, little sister, quiet time, going out, New Mexico and Oklahoma, 'Merica, cooking, Oklahoma State University henceforth referred to as OSU, all things orange especially roses, dogs, green chile, beef and traveling Hate: liars, cheats, raw tomatoes, cucumbers and avocados Can't wait to: pay for an overseas vacation, watch my best friends marry the loves of their lives, go to an NFL game and deep sea fishing, shoot par on my hometown golf course, make an insane donation to my judging coach and watch my sister accomplish everything I know she can

What do you think?

